PDA

View Full Version : Running a forum

pgbphotographytas
07-04-2010, 4:02pm
Long story short I have been helping to run a forum for a couple of years on and off, I started a Yahoo group about 7 years ago and this became a proper forum about 2.5 years ago, I took a break from it about 2 years ago for 6 months and then came back as a assistant admin about a year ago. Due to a clash of ideas and views on how things should be done between me and the forum owner I have now been told it is now my forum :)

I am looking for some advice on the issues below:

I just checked and if we were to block all members who have not posted in 60 days we would be blocking 221 members.
If we look at members who have not been online in 60 days we have 192 members to block.

Looking at it I feel we have 3 main groups of members:
- Around 30 members which have posted in the last 60 days.

- Around another 30 which have been online in the past 60 days but have not posted, these people are using our information but putting nothing back in to the forum.

- The rest which clearly don't want to be active members so as far as I can see these could be blocked.

Does what I am suggesting sound fair?

Paul

ozwebfx
07-04-2010, 4:11pm
Dunno about blocking, maybe too harsh. You could copy what this forum does ... I've been lurking for ages here & read a lot of posts in Google Reader, however when I clicked through to the site access was denied to some areas until I posted something.

yarnella
07-04-2010, 4:17pm
Most forums have a small core of members who are regularly active. You can't make everybody become an active member.

Why do you want to block inactive members? What harm are they doing?

I have run a Yahoo! group for almost 10 years and only a very small percentage of members at any point in time are active. They come and go but I don't care. Those that are inactive may become active again. It's up to them when they wish to participate.