PDA

View Full Version : What can l take a photo of?

FocusOn
22-03-2010, 7:33pm
I am new to the wonderful world of taking photos.

I was just wondering what l can take a photo of.

Can l take a photo of people at a cafe?

People at the beach?

Someones home? etc, etc.

john

ricktas
22-03-2010, 7:48pm
You cannot take photos on private property (cafe's are private property), without the owner of the property giving permission. This is if you are on the private property. You can take photos if you are standing on public land (ie beaches), but be aware that photographing children on a public beach, whilst not illegal, will often result in you being confronted about your reasons for taking the photos.

Also be aware that some open spaces that the public can access are not public land. For instance the plaza outside some buildings is private land, not public land.

old dog
22-03-2010, 7:53pm
welcome John. It is a wonderful world indeed. You might have to be very careful/cautious in taking "strangers" photos. Unless you have a very long lens on, you may or should ask their permission first. The beach is a tricky one though.....I was recently on the promenade at Manly and I didn`t feel comfortable at all to even get the camera out. I guess it just depends where you are, how many people are around at the time, etc etc. I`m sure other more seasoned togs will give better advice than I. Anyway, enjoy and have a great time.

Kym
22-03-2010, 8:07pm
G'Day & Welcome - post some images and have fun!

Maybe have a look at the New to Photography (http://www.ausphotography.net.au/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=104) forum and the Learning Plan (http://www.ausphotography.net.au/forum/showthread.php?t=24290).

Read this as well ;) http://www.ausphotography.net.au/forum/showthread.php?t=24730

rwg717
22-03-2010, 8:10pm