PDA

View Full Version : photoshop version? on a macbook? help needed

Loum
21-03-2010, 10:09pm
hi all,
I am wanting to buy a macbook 13" with osx.
I have been using windows vista wtih photoshop 7 and while I still have a lot to learn I do sortof know my way around it.
my question is: if I buy a macbook and I want to use a photoshop program, what version of photoshop should I buy, and what OS X version do I need to run it? are there incompatibilities I should know about?

I am not sure what the differences are between photoshop 7, (which I know) and cs4, elements or what else is out there for a mac? I am not a professional photographer or graphic designer but i wouldn't want anything that handles less than photoshop 7 .
thanks for your help in advance.
Louise

Xenedis
21-03-2010, 10:20pm
Louise,

Adobe Photoshop CS4 (the current version) is available for both Windows and Mac.

It is functionally the same.

Looking at the box, the minimum specs are as follows:

PowerPC G5 or multicore Intel processor
Max OS X v10.4.11-10.5.4
512MB of RAM (1GB recommended)
2GB of available hard disk space
1,024 x 768 display (1,280 x 800 recommended) with 16-bit video card

I don't think you'll have any problem at all if you're buying a new Mac.

Adobe Photoshop CS4 is basically Photoshop version 11. If you're running version 7, it's quite old, and there would be a lot of changes.

Big Pix
21-03-2010, 10:32pm
I am running Photoshop CS3 Extended on a mac book with out any problems.......

Photoshop 7 would be Elements 7 which is now Photoshop Elements 8.....CS4 is the full version and expensive......

....... there are lots of programs for a mac...... google is your friend

Loum
21-03-2010, 10:35pm
thanks for that.
Its a second hand macbook - but its only 9 months old - so the specs are with the range you suggest.
I just found out the OS is 10.5.8 (is that outside the range the mention?)