PDA

View Full Version : pro or consumer film

conscuba
15-03-2010, 8:54pm
Hi, if you plan to develop only and then scan and edit in photoshop,would buying pro 160 be a waste compared to cheap superia or similar ?
thanks.

smallfooties
15-03-2010, 10:01pm
Not sure...hmm...it would be good to find out what the others know...
but i would think the quality of the negative would still make a difference if that makes sense?

ricnak
16-03-2010, 1:59am
Like most things in life... you get what you pay for!

I never used pro film, then again... I'm no pro. I did notice how much better pro photo's looked though. Buy the best you can justify and afford.

ameerat42
16-03-2010, 7:46am
Try both, then you can tell us. You're talking of 35mm I suppose. I use the Pro because I can't get anything less in the 120 size. Am...

swifty
18-03-2010, 5:34pm
I'm not 100% sure but I've heard somethng like there are pro and consumer versions of the same film but named differently of course. The results are essentially the same but there is guarantee of consistensy from batch to batch with pro film so u always get predicable results.
So if I can find consumer film in 120 size I'd definitely give it a go. I bought a bunch of 135 film from the classifieds here a while back but have no camera to test them out yet so I can't say how they compare with my own experience. But I doubt I'd be able to discern subtle differences anyways.

conscuba
18-03-2010, 6:34pm
thanks for the replies.
I guess what I want to know is in regard to 35mm negative film,eg,a roll of big w fuji 100 or 400 compared to a pro 160 iso film,if I edit the scanned -ve ,can I get the cheap film to look like the pro film and if so then I cant see why you buy professional film. If you dont edit but just print from the -ve then yes you probably would see a difference.

swifty
19-03-2010, 10:42am
I think if your pp skills r good, u can achieve similar results. But then u could probably achieve the same pp digitally captured images.