PDA

View Full Version : Help a newb decide!

thommo09
15-03-2010, 12:05pm
Hi all,

now I'm sorry if this is a pretty common sort of thread, but currently I'm rather confused about which camera is going to be best for me.

A few key points:
1) My budget is flexible upto around about $1000, however I'd like to try to keep to $600 - $700 if possible. Ideally I'd like to keep my initial outlay as low as possible as I've just started a new job and I'm not even sure if I'll have enough time to justify a big splurge.
2) In the past I've used my old point and shoot to photograph landscapes (I particularly like night shots), portraits (usually at events like birthday parties and the like) and amateur sport. These are probably the areas I'd use a new camera for the most and I guess I'm really just looking for better quality pics than the old Casio could produce, although I would also like a little scope for some more creativity.
3) I'm happy to look at second hand, although being a newb I'm not really sure if this is a wise move
4) I have a copy of CS3 that I was lucky enough to score with a mac I bought a while back and have some experience with photoshop (not heaps recently though )

So thats the background info. I've looked at stuff like the Nikon D3000 and Canon EOS1000D but I'm keen to avoid the complete bottom end of whats available. I'm interested in the Olympus E620 and Sony A380, which seem to have good reviews but am a bit put off by the thought of expensive lenses and availability should I wish to get into it more in the future. Is there any real benefit to the Micro 4/3 format?

I've also looked into secondhand stuff and have found that maybe the EOS450 might be worth a look, but still seem to be commading pretty high prices (especially compared to new!) which has raised the issue of possibly buying a really old EOS300 or 350 for comparatively little as a toe in the water sort of step.