PDA

View Full Version : File is corrupt and unreadable

Paul G
12-03-2010, 6:59am
Having some dramas downloading my last shoot into adobe Bridge (NEF/Raw from Sandisk CF card)

The download starts then stops halfway through.

From some of the photos that have downloaded a couple are saying "file is corrupt or unreadable" if I try to open in CS4 and when I try to delete the file of folder from My Pictures it says the same thing and will not let me delete file or folder.

What can I do?

I also been having trouble with the computer detecting my camera and when the external hard drive was connected at time of download for backup neither wanted to play the game. Camera would only start to download when the external Seagate drive was disconnected. I've never had problems like this before and I'm a bit nervous as the pictures were from a wedding I shot last weekend.

I @ M
12-03-2010, 7:05am
I am no expert Paul but right at this stage I would stop trying anything else and source a card reader and even another pc / mac to see if they can be simply copied direct from the card rather than relying on possible software or camera recognition problems.

Paul G
12-03-2010, 7:10am
Yep I was thinking of a card reader as my next step but the budget won't allow one just at the moment. It's annoying because there seems to be a few issues at play here and it has me a little worried as it hasn't really happened before.

Analog6
12-03-2010, 8:14am
Paul, you can get them for $10-20 at Big W, K Mart, discount shops etc.

Paul G
12-03-2010, 10:19am
Cheers Odille I'll check it out. The ones I've been looking at are the Sandisk and Lexar ones for between $100 and $140.

kiwi
12-03-2010, 10:51am
I have a sandisk card reader - it cost like $30, the firewire ones are the expensive sort, but you prob dont need them

ameerat42
12-03-2010, 11:06am
Paul, you can get them for $10-20 at Big W, K Mart, discount shops etc.