PDA

View Full Version : Advice please for photo saved too small

Jacs14
08-03-2010, 7:55pm
When new to photography there is many aspects to learn and not all with taking the shot ... there is stuff to learn with post processing ... and the one BIG error I have done with a lot of my early shots is save too small!!! which on the whole isn't a huge problem, because hopefully as I improve they are shots that although I may still like will see how they could be improved and take again, or luckily they still print up ok. The only real problem is with shots they may not present themself again, and you are still proud of them and would like to post them to different sites ... however they are thumbnails due to being saved wrong and when posted to site don't showcase that great, is there any advice or way to resave them bigger that anyone knows of .... I am still fairly new to all this and as you get to know me better you will learn that my limitations are not only in taking the shot but afterwards as well!!!! :lol:
example below

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4019/4416684094_b7646c51cd_o.jpg

Lani
08-03-2010, 8:49pm
The best thing to do is to never work on your original....either shoot raw and keep the raw file, or if you shoot jpeg, duplicate the images first, so you always have a "digital negative."
If the images you are talking about are only thumbnail size you are limited by the resolution they were saved at as much as the size.

ameerat42
08-03-2010, 10:01pm
Hi Jacs14. For sure, don't work on your originals, as Lani says. I have made the mistake of getting smaller than expected images when forgetting to re-set the image size from small back to large. But you might be able to enhance what you've got in the images with some PP (post-processing).