PDA

View Full Version : eBay Experience

Redgum
27-02-2010, 3:33pm
As eBay becomes cluttered and open to opportunists what experiences can you pass onto AP members that may make it easier/safer for them to buy or sell photographic equipment on eBay? Have you had any bad/good experiences (first hand) and how did they effect your sale/purchase?

Kym
27-02-2010, 3:38pm
An excellent thread. I've stuck it.

I've bought a few things from eBay. The most expensive being a lens.
I've stuck with high +ve feedback sellers with no problems.

Harves
27-02-2010, 3:43pm
I've had no bad experiences on ebay.
My most expensive was a second hand Nikon lens which I still have. As Kym said, check the seller's past transactions before you commit to buy.

balwoges
27-02-2010, 3:46pm
Bought a lot of small items from ebay using Paypal, sold lenses and camera which I knew were in good condition and buyers were happy, myself, wouldn't buy 2nd lenses advertised by private sellers.
My son, however, has bought computer parts and was misled about the condition of an expensive part, however after some argy bargy the buyer eventually refunded his money.

Redgum
27-02-2010, 4:15pm
I raised this because whilst selling my Nikon D300 and kit I had three scammers (trying to get user names and passwords) over two days and finally two non-existent successful bidders. eBay refunded all the fees but one could have been caught if not wary. (Like sending bank details to successful bidders that aren't genuine).

swifty
27-02-2010, 4:30pm
I've only used it a few times and am very wary and cautious when looking to buy.
I generally trust the shops that have hundreds or thousands of good ratings but for individuals, I try to steer clear unless there are information on the ad about the person, in which case I try to check that person out. If everything seems legit, then I would bid.