PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Gear Advice

Bloobeard
19-02-2010, 6:12pm
I'm planning on dipping my toes into DSLR photography and am looking for advice:

I think a Canon 500D is right for me: Entry level and some friends have Canons so there is opportunity for lens borrowing so the body is pretty much set. I have no specific plans on the types of things I want to photo other than my young family and general scenery around Hong Kong so what lens should I go for?

Is the EOS-500D (Kit: EF-S 18-200mm f3.5-5.6 IS) at around $1370 good value? The dpreview for the lens is favourable.

Or am I better off buying the body and pairing it with something faster but not as zoomy (is that a valid photography term?) for the same price like a Tamron AF 17-50mm f/2.8 SP XR Di II LD ASL IF VC?
www.the-digital-picture.com gives the non-VC version a good rap.

Or do you have some other suggestions? What is going to enhance my joy and wonder the most!

KALBO
19-02-2010, 6:53pm
I am new to dslr's myself so it would be good if you can tell us how much experience you have with photography.. what you like to photograph.. experience with film or point & shoot? things like this will help people to give the right advice. Trust me.. there's a lot of help here.:th3:

pgbphotographytas
19-02-2010, 8:06pm
The general advice is to buy the best lens you can afford as this will last you many times longer then a body and to buy what feels best in your hands and what you feel comfortable using.

I have had a couple of canons and was happy with them but each brands has good and bad points.

Bloobeard
19-02-2010, 9:34pm
@KALBO
Thanks Rex.
23 years ago I handled an SLR for high-school photography class so terms like f-stop have a vague familiarity ;)
The past few years my camera has been a succession of phones (LG Renoir is the latest) for snapping whatever catches my eye. We have a Nikon P3 P&S as well which has been great.