PDA

View Full Version : Business Name - opinions please :)

Jess
16-02-2010, 1:16pm
Hi All

I am needing help deciding on which way to go with my business name. I am just starting out and have been using a business name that my Husband came up with about three years ago and I am starting to wonder if it is the best name to go forward with..... I would really appreciate anyones opinion on whether or not I am better going with my personal name as the business name or sticking with my current one.... Which is better - to have a brand or to be known as my actual name????

So my current name that I am working under is - Moki Photography

http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q105/deejayphotos/Forum%20Photos/LargeLogo.jpg

Or working under my actual name - Jessica Simpson Photography

http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q105/deejayphotos/Forum%20Photos/JSLogo.jpg

All opinions,pros,cons would be greatly appreciated......

Thanks so much

Jess

Analog6
16-02-2010, 1:31pm
I'd go for the name, personally, people will always be trying to read something into the other one, and there is also the small risk it is offensive in somebody or other's language.

BUT, you will have to make sure any existing clients know you are changing it and what to.

James T
16-02-2010, 2:19pm
You have a famous name, might come in handy in searches. Or, mean you get lost in searches as the 'other' Jessica Simpson gets all the hits.

merlin
16-02-2010, 3:58pm
I like them both. the top one has a real fun, light, happy sort of feel to it, then second one has a more ..straight, very professional feel to it. If that makes sense?
I guess I kind of lean more to the first one.

AndreaB
16-02-2010, 4:07pm
For me it depends on what you mostly photograph, do you capture playful children, and families or is your work very formal.

Moki Photography looks and sounds to me like a great fun place to get family photos with, I probably wouldn't ring them up for a formal session of just myself.