PDA

View Full Version : Micro Four Thirds thoughts / experience

paiyan
11-02-2010, 2:52am
Hi all,

Thinking of investing in the Olympus Pen E-PL1 when it releases next month - hopefully it won't break the bank. RRP $600.00 in the US. Seems to be newbie-friendly too, a plus as I'm new to photography.

http://www.dpreview.com/previews/olympusepl1/

Would appreciate advice from anyone who has experience or comments regarding heading down the m4/3 route! Will be doing a fair amount of travel and not too keen to carry a dSLR around hence the m4/3.

Have also been looking at the Panasonic GF-1 as an alternative, much pricier though :( Hoping not to go above the $1000.00 mark to start with. But that 20mm f1.7 lens is a sure winner.....

http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/PanasonicGF1/

Torn between the Pen and the GF-1: in-built image stabilization vs superior AF. Thoughts / comments very welcome :)

ricktas
11-02-2010, 7:10am
My thoughts. Olympus produce some quality gear, but their blinkered approach to the 4/3rds system and now the micro 4/3rds will not do them a huge deal of favours at the pinnacle of photography (the Pro's). I reckon their sensor size limitations will be their undoing.

As other manufacturers go towards full frame more and more (35mm film sized sensors) they are producing incredible quality, especially with the higher ISO's now available. The size of a 4/3rds sensor is going to be the downfall of Olympus in the longer term, in my opinion. For example, if you stick 20MP on a full frame sensor and 20PM on a 4/3rds sensor, the FF one is going to be able to produce better quality results as each pixel site is larger, especially if you start increasing the ISO.