PDA

View Full Version : Advise please

firefly
06-02-2010, 9:41am
I shot a few wedding photographs last weekend for a friend. In the morning it absolutley poured down then just in time for the ceremony it came out sunshine and happy days. The issue i have with some of the photographs is the glare from the drenched road/ground has put a few flared out spots in some of the photographs. I have never been presented with this issue before and I am just after some advise as to what I will need to do in the future to prevent this from happening. Thanks heaps :th3:

nigo75
06-02-2010, 12:00pm
Im only new to the game but im guessing a Polarizing Filter would help out not that I use one but they have been used in a few situations ive read about.......:umm:

firefly
06-02-2010, 7:28pm
I have a Polarizing filter but they are mainly for preventing colours from being washed out i.e. sky appears more vibrent a deeper blue then washed out I had a lens hood which is a given really, thanks any who for your help

Harves
06-02-2010, 8:05pm
A polarising filter can also reduce glare, but not in every case. Not sure how you would go with the loss of a couple of stops due to the filter.

arthurking83
06-02-2010, 9:37pm
another vote for the polarising filter.

the idea that the polariser is used to deepen the blue in skies(I think) is wrongly assumed.

It's one of the things that a polariser can do, but not all the time, and in every situation. So the assumption that this is the purpose of a polariser doesn't fit nicely!

A polariser can reduce glare by a significant amount in all situations, and eliminate it completely in some situations(but not all!).

I only wear polarised sunglasses, rain hail or shine, purely for that reason as my eyes have become overly sensitive to glare over the last few years :confused013

.... and the side benefit of wearing them almost all the time, is that you can instantly see where the blue sky is! :th3: