PDA

View Full Version : PhotoShop Elements guidance

kjl
14-01-2010, 1:44pm
I recently downloaded the trial version of PhotoShop Elements 8 to see if I feel comfortable with using it before spending the money - I have had a bit of a play around with a couple of photos to see what it is capable of but as I'm still fairly new to this game was hoping to get some feedback on one of the images I have altered to see if I'm on the right track (the second attachment is the original image) ...or am I going overboard with the brightness etc? :confused013

ricktas
14-01-2010, 1:51pm
For me the second photo is much better. it has a nice range from dark shadow to white, whilst your edited version is much brighter, it loses the shadows. A good photo has a range from shading from black through to white. Sometimes a photos doesn't need much done to it and less is more.

Learn how to use the histogram (levels adjustment) in elements to get a nice range from pure black to white in your final photos.

kjl
14-01-2010, 2:19pm
Thanks for the advice Rick - I hadn't really thought of the image in that way...I will keep playing around with Elements (especially the historgram!) and will see what I can come up with

ricktas
14-01-2010, 3:57pm
Have a look at members photos on here. Look at how the ones that grab you have a nice range of shades in the photo, from a nice rich black through to a white(ish). The human eye and brain seems to get a sense that they are better for some reason.

Captured Exposure
14-01-2010, 6:21pm
Just on that, instead of purchasing version 8 which is not much different from 7 as I understand it. You could buy a Wacom Tablet and get Adobe Elements 7 Free(It may be 8 now, I bought mine a little while ago.) You get 2 for the price of 1 ;)

I bought the Bamboo Pen+Touch from their website.

etherial
14-01-2010, 6:53pm