PDA

View Full Version : JPEG or RAW

jrdnc09
09-01-2010, 10:08pm
I am a newbie and wondering what format to shoot in - JPEG or RAW??

Thanks
JO

linuxgear
09-01-2010, 10:20pm
If you after quality of your images and you know how to edit- proccess your images then
full steam ahead for RAW
it will take more -Gb- of your HDD space but I think its worth doing
ask around for more good reasons to do so ...
:th3:
regards

bobt
09-01-2010, 10:26pm
Thanks
JO

First you need to be able to define which is better - Holden or Ford, Collingwood or Richmond or any of the other issues that people take sides on! RAW and JPEG have devotees on both sides, so there's no "right" or "wrong" - just differing viewpoints.

However, that said let me say that RAW gives you the best potential to produce the best image but it has a bigger learning curve and requires more knowledge.

Some cameras shoot both at once, and that's what I do, but it uses up a lot of storage.

Maybe until you can say you're no longer a newbie, you should stick with JPEG, and then work up to RAW once you have your head around the whole photography thing a bit more. Do some reading about RAW and see what that brings you. RAW files are very big and not all software can process them, but that's just part of the RAW learning curve.

Think of it like your camera - when you're new you put it on manual - then after a while you work up to the various dials and settings - using RAW is similar, so it's better to walk with JPEG before trying to run too quickly. :)

pollen
09-01-2010, 10:36pm
When I first started photography I only captured in JPG mode. I really regret not having RAWs of those early shots nowadays

imo go RAW+JPG

jev
09-01-2010, 10:39pm
Horses for courses. Sometimes RAW is better, sometimes JPEG is the preferable choice. In general: if you've got the time shoot RAW - if nothing else, you always can create the exact same JPEG from the RAW as when you shot JPEG directly.

kiwi
09-01-2010, 10:47pm