PDA

View Full Version : Large Format cameras: Anyone into this?

Star Catcher
29-12-2009, 6:19pm
I have two 4x5 Speed Graphics. One is circa 1955 other 1970. Both are great cams for studio and on-site work. Ilford is still making the HP5 Plus but not sure if they are making FP5. Colour pos. is hard to get now. Anyone still using these cameras and films?

James

smallfooties
29-12-2009, 6:31pm
Hi James, I have never used large format cameras before. They seem really interesting though. Are they the ones where you have to put a black cloth over your head to take the picture??? Sorry, my post is so redundant but i find old cameras very interesting!

TOM
29-12-2009, 6:42pm
speed graphics also have a fold out piece around the ground glass to aid in focusing and composition. you may have seen photos of the famous street photographer named weegee using a speed graphic. he was the new york street photographer who allegedly coined the phrase "f8 and be there", although he never used to use f8...but used something more like f16 or f32. this would give similar results on his large format, to what you may expect at f8 on small format, so the phrase may have been altered to apply to the general amatuer.

Krzys
29-12-2009, 6:52pm
I would love a nice wooden view camera. Not one on a rail (heavy!). One day...when I am traveling through the Rockies in Canada I will definitely be using one.

The_Camera_Poser
29-12-2009, 7:00pm
I'd love a large format camera, but ohhh...the cost of developing......

Big Pix
29-12-2009, 7:08pm
if you do a web search, I believe stock is still available in the UK........

Star Catcher
29-12-2009, 10:58pm
This place in Melb is a good start. http://studiogear.com.au/products%20LF.htm