PDA

View Full Version : What do I need!

Lani Schlink
19-12-2009, 9:23pm
I'm just getting started in my career and have close to no idea what sort of equipment I need.
I'm doing Pregnancy, Newborn and baby photography. Some will be done inside my not yet finished studio and some outside.

In your opinion, what equipment is best for me (what type of canon camera, lenses,studio lighting and equipment ect). There is so much I need as I'am basically starting from scratch. I now own a Canon D400, 85mm, macro 100mm f1.8, and a sturdy tripod. I'm aware the list could go on and on here but just to give me some sort of idea.:confused013

Cheers

lani

kiwi
19-12-2009, 9:28pm
Id suggest a 7D, 85 f/1.2, alienbees studio lights, white and black backdrops and $20000 worth of other gear, insurance, a business plan, accounting advice you name it

Its very hard to put a start and finish on it

What cant you do now would be a good place to start ?

MarkChap
19-12-2009, 10:30pm
I don't know, but in my heart of hearts I have to ask

If you do not know what gear you need, are you sure you are ready to making a business of photography.

What are you trying to achieve that your current gear can't do ??
Is budget a big concern ??

ricktas
19-12-2009, 10:46pm
I don't know, but in my heart of hearts I have to ask

If you do not know what gear you need, are you sure you are ready to making a business of photography.

What are you trying to achieve that your current gear can't do ??
Is budget a big concern ??

I agree with Mark. If you do not have an understand of what gear is needed, then I too, feel you might be trying to progress into photography as a business, way to quickly.

Gregg Bell
19-12-2009, 11:09pm