PDA

View Full Version : problem regarding soft flash

readysetgo
19-12-2009, 3:32pm
hi, i'm having a strange problem with flash....
first keep in mind im a beginner so this might be a stupid question.
when i use my 430exII on any setting (i tried all from ettl to full to 1/32 power) and i even have it on -1 compensation, i get harsh light...
But when i use the small flash that came with the camera and on -1 i get a more softer light....like i don't blow out the feathers (i'm photographing birds) and the eyes are not red/blue...
But this Small flash is only useful for close things because it wont go far..
i'd really like to be using the 430exII but how do i get it to do just a soft flash and not so harsh?
thanks from casey.

etherial
19-12-2009, 3:49pm
Hi, It would be great if you could post some examples. Its not a stupid question, flash takes a bit of mastering IMO. (I'm no where near it!)

ricktas
19-12-2009, 3:59pm
What settings are you using on your camera? Remember if Auto, your camera is still going to try and get what it thinks is a 'correct' exposure, by metering the scene and using settings it thinks it needs to. Post some photos with the exif intact and we can advise further.

readysetgo
19-12-2009, 4:59pm
hi, im really busy saving my stuff from my computer...its faulty and has to go back tomorrow :( so i'll find and post some within tomorrow or the next day...ok?

readysetgo
19-12-2009, 5:00pm
What settings are you using on your camera? Remember if Auto, your camera is still going to try and get what it thinks is a 'correct' exposure, by metering the scene and using settings it thinks it needs to. Post some photos with the exif intact and we can advise further.

i'm using manual.

clm738
19-12-2009, 5:29pm
I would like to know the answer too.

sufran
19-12-2009, 7:12pm
Sorry if this is a dumb question, but does bouncing the flash help? (while you're getting the settings sorted).

RememberThis
19-12-2009, 7:52pm