PDA

View Full Version : Compression

Doot
23-11-2009, 1:35am
I'm a newbie and still trying to get to grips with how to upload and indeed navigate my way around the site.

In trying to upload entries for the competitions, I of course abide by the limits imposed - 1024 px longest side and file-size 250 kb. However that provides a problem because in reducing an image to as much as 1024 px on the longest side, the file-size limit compresses the resolution to what I deem as unacceptable levels - what I have already uploaded on this basis has presented quite insipid versions of my original image. The only alternative would be to reduce the dimensions to no more than say 600 px on the longest side but then that hardly fills the screen!

My view, my humble opinion, is that for a maximum of 1024 px, the files-size should be at least 400 kb. The riposte from "Administration" may well be this is beyond the capacity of the site overall. Therefore, maybe there are only two alternatives: a) reduce the maximum dimensions or b) put up with it Thompson.

I @ M
23-11-2009, 8:00am
Hugh, all members that are uploading competition images are following the same guidelines and I don't know about you but I would never call the vast majority of them "insipid".

I would like you to try something for us, link an image at say 600kb and 1024px on the longest side and then attach the same image at 250kb and 1024px on the longest side so that we can see the degradation you are referring to.

The main reason that the size was introduced was that when you have 50 + images in a competition many many people here that don't have a very fast 'net connection were finding that the competition pages took a very long time to load with large file sizes.

Have a go at presenting the same image, both linked and attached in this thread and we will see if we can help. :)

ricktas
23-11-2009, 8:26am