PDA

View Full Version : Software developers - tell us about your skills

Kym
14-11-2009, 9:41am
I'm interested in finding out what software developers are also into photography.

I'm also wondering what skills we have on the forum in this area.

So please tell us about your IT skills! :lightbulb:

I @ M
14-11-2009, 10:06am
Sorry, I only know how to log in to AP and haven't a clue about spreading sheets out in Java ( only ever been to Bali ) to lay a lamp on for the competent development of Christmas dinner for Linus Torvalds. :confused013

CherylB
14-11-2009, 10:11am
Not really enough options there Kym! In a former life I was a programmer, but I don't see much call for Cobol these days! (especially on punched cards :D )

I have dabbled a bit with html and VB, and I can do anything I like with a Remedy system. I do a fair bit of coding within a Crystal Report from time to time.

Kym
14-11-2009, 10:14am
Options - Well I could have had 20 more but just wanted a really broad gauge of current relevant skills

Andrew - you should take over primary tech support! ;)

Tannin
14-11-2009, 10:21am
Where is the option to vote for I am an incompetent LAMP developer?

CherylB
14-11-2009, 10:21am
Options - Well I could have had 20 more but just wanted a really broad gauge of current relevant skills

Yep, story of my life! Always out of date, and completely irrelevant! :D :p :rolleyes:

farmer_rob
14-11-2009, 10:28am
Reasonably currently, I know my way around SQLserver, Oracle, ASP (less so .net, but have worked with it) mainly revolving around web-to-database coding and database design.

In a past life, I knew lots about Unix, C, Informix, SQL in various flavours, 4GLs, machine code real-time programming and data acquisition, as well as broadcast video standards and video encoding.

(I can also pull calves and fix pumps - but that is another story...)

campo
14-11-2009, 11:44am