PDA

View Full Version : Is it me or the camera?

Optical
09-11-2009, 11:04am
I went to a childs pool party on the weekend. It was very cloudy and then the sun came out then went in again. The pool area was quite shady so I had the white balance in "shade". I have noticed that my images have come out quite red (very red). Would the white balance made the photos too red or is there something else I should have done? I'm still learning the ins and outs of the camera (obviously haven't learnt enough) and would appreciate any feedback good or bad. The camera I had used is a Nikon D60 and the lense 55-200mm. No flash used. Thanks.

ricktas
09-11-2009, 11:09am
Does look like a white balance issue. Did you shoot in RAW? cause if so you can fix it in your RAW converter.

Optical
09-11-2009, 11:17am
No I just shot in fine (high) JPG. I've stopped shooting in RAW as I cannot seem to open the RAW files in my version of photoshop CS3. I did manage to take back the red by adjusting the image through the Hue/Saturation, but don't want to do this to every photo - I did take over 200 shots. I would like to get it right the first time through the camera.

Fantasyphoto
09-11-2009, 11:27am
It would appear that the white balance selection of "shade" was probably not the correct choice, at least for for the first two images.

You could divide your images into a few groups (based on the amount of excess red) and then batch process each group.

Optical
09-11-2009, 11:34am
Hi Fantasyphoto
Thanks for that. I was actually thinking of doing that. I've heard about batch processing but haven't learnt how to do it yet..... guess what I will be doing later.

ricktas
09-11-2009, 11:39am
You have a D60, so the RAW files should be ok with CS3, Do an update in CS3 and it will find all the updates available including ACR and then you should easily be able to use your RAW files with CS3

wideangle
09-11-2009, 11:43am