PDA

View Full Version : Getting rid of dust spots in GIMP?

Sarge
21-10-2009, 8:27pm
Can someone please help me by telling me how to get rid of the dust spots in one of my pictures by using GIMP...

I have to use the picture for something important and don't want a dust spot in the way.:rolleyes: The first dust spot is in the centre line to the left in the clouds, and the second one is to the top right.

Here's the picture:
http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2571/4008073850_0c435d687d_o.jpg
Any ideas?

Thanks in advance,
Tim

Miaow
21-10-2009, 8:32pm
I'm not really good at doing edits like that using healing but i have in the past copied a little bit of the sky area right next to the spot and pasted it over the spots - works ok with plain sky but might be harder on the clouds

Humps n Bumps
21-10-2009, 8:34pm
I'm only a newbie to PP, so I'm sure there will be an easier way.. but have you tried the cloning device?
I'd be interested to hear how people do this too. There's a photo in the forums of a train with dust spots, and then without.. looks awesome!

Sarge
21-10-2009, 8:37pm
Thanks Cathy.

Yeah, I never use PS, so that's why I am asking for help.:o I have read you can do that but how do you do it??

Thanks HNB. I did explore around, found the cloning tool but had no idea what I was doing (see above) and just left it at that.:rolleyes:

Thanks for your help,
Tim

Humps n Bumps
21-10-2009, 8:42pm
I hope you don't mind, but I had a quick play with it in Gimp2.
This is a 5 second fix it.. I'm sure you could do better. I used the clone tool.

Humps n Bumps
21-10-2009, 8:43pm
Just make sure you use the right brush size and it should be pretty simple. ;)

Sarge
21-10-2009, 8:54pm
WOW, that was fast. Thanks HNB. Don't mind at all, thanks for doing so.

So in GIMP 2 you select Clone Tool not Perspective Clone Tool, and then what do you do??

Thanks again,
Tim

Humps n Bumps
21-10-2009, 8:57pm
You're welcome.