PDA

View Full Version : Learn about Lens numbering??

Teddykhil
03-10-2009, 1:20pm
G'day All, Yep, I'm a newbie on this site. I have a Canon 500D with 18-55IS + 55-250IS, both these lenses come with the body. This was an insurance claim as my first DSLR, 400D was taken without my concent while not home. (A.H's) Never mind, get over it. I'm enjoying the T1i with all the settings I'm able to change and learn to mix and match. What I'm wanting to learn and know, I can get around some of the number's that each lens will have, but would like to have a list or chart that I can look at and then follow to work out what a lens is capable of doing what. Plus, what lens's would be a good start to get to combine with the two that I have at present. I'd like to get into some portrait taking, but my main area of wanting to learn is landscape. Any sugestrions please.

Thanks, Kev.

arthurking83
03-10-2009, 2:20pm
G'day Kev.

First up, use the NTP(New To Photography (http://www.ausphotography.net.au/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=104) section to get a grip of the numbers on the lens, before you try to commit those numbers to memory.

ie. there's no point in really explaining the numbers on the lens, if you can't grasp the basic fundamentals of what they do, or how each variable alters the resultant image.

So have a browse through the basic area of NTP first up, use what lenses you have to fully appreciate why the lense syou have may be limiting(your ability to produce certain types of images) and then the understanding of the numbers on the lens will come naturally.
Once(probably in only a few days) you start to understand what the aperture values really mean, and there's still a question you want answered, feel free to post that question.

first of all... do you have a tripod?
(if not, you need one!)

:)

ricktas
03-10-2009, 2:48pm