View Full Version : getting rid of noise

Gregg Bell
25-09-2009, 12:59am
http://i230.photobucket.com/albums/ee171/mosdivine/CSC_0418.jpg

http://i230.photobucket.com/albums/ee171/mosdivine/CSC_0414.jpg

noisy images... how to clean up?

Paul G
25-09-2009, 2:15am
If you're using PS CS4 Greg look in the menu's under Filter > Noise > then it gives you 5 options.
I'm still learning this myself so can't offer any more help than that at this stage.

I @ M
25-09-2009, 6:50am
I have become a fan of Neat Image, it costs but the results are worth it to me.
Obviously working on the original full size TIFF file is preferable to a reduced quality JPEG but here is your first shot with a rough and ready run through Neat Image.

ricktas
25-09-2009, 7:08am
Yep neat image for me as well. Have also tried Nik Software's Dfine and that is quite a good noise reduction filter also. The PS generic one does the job, but no where nearly as well as the third party plugins

Miaow
25-09-2009, 7:36am
Yeah neat image works well :) you can get camera profiles for it to match your camera which really help on fixing up the noise :)

luvmadaysoff
01-10-2009, 11:01pm
If you use Lightroom 2.4 the Noise reduction facility is a vast improvement on previous versions, and usually quite sufficient.

A few weeks back we shot a wedding on a very dark gloomy, and severely overcast day in the hills of Melbourne. We used a full frame 21 Megapixel Canon 5D mark II camera (I point this out as I am not familiar enough with the Nikon range of bodies which I believe you use), and shot most images at ISO 1600, some at ISO 3200. The results were O.K. but after running through the latest lightroom, and utilizing the Noise reduction facility, Luminance only, we achieved very satisfying results. -At 20" x 30" enlargement print size, on archival quality lab printed Matt finish, there is no perceivable noise in over 70% of the images.