PDA

View Full Version : Another Colour Management Issue

mal from cessnock
30-07-2009, 12:19am
Hi, Newbie here.

I work for ages on my images and they look lovely in Photoshop and other image viewers, but when I view them in my browser they look washed out and lifeless.

I am learning about colour space at tafe. I've calibrated my monitor and set PS to adobe 1998.

The colours that appear washed out and dull are mainly greens and blues.

Checkout this image (last image on the page)
http://crafthouse.net.au/ellalong.php when viewing this image in PS and Windows Image Viewer it looks the vivid, with nice deep greens (same for images with blues) but as you can see it is lifeless in your browser. I've tried IE Firefox Chrome

Can anyone shed any light on the problem?

I've got to get my head around this cause most of my images atm are captured specifically for my website.

Cheers, Mal from Cessnock
http://crafthouse.net.au/index.php

jev
30-07-2009, 12:59am
I work for ages on my images and they look lovely in Photoshop and other image viewers, but when I view them in my browser they look washed out and lifeless.

I am learning about colour space at tafe. I've calibrated my monitor and set PS to adobe 1998.

The colours that appear washed out and dull are mainly greens and blues.
There really should be a FAQ explaining this somewhere...

Many browsers (IE and Chrome amongst them, FireFox varies) are not color managed. They don't know about colorspaces but simply assume all images are in sRGB (the standard color space for the web!). That's why they look washed-out...

When posting images on the web, always convert them to sRGB and include a color profile (just to make sure). I don't want to sound pedantic or anything, but don't they teach that at tafe?

mal from cessnock
30-07-2009, 1:07am
Thanks Joost, can you offer a little advice here please?

You suggest to convert to sRGB and include a colour profile.