PDA

View Full Version : Birding

sunnycoastguy
09-07-2009, 7:06pm
This is for the birding guys,what do you use to id the birds?? Is there a book that i should get or do you use the web ????:confused013

Darey
09-07-2009, 9:02pm
I'm just a beginner Birder and I use this site to do basic identifications.

http://www2.abc.net.au/science/birds/

Hope it helps you and good luck with your efforts. :th3:

Harves
09-07-2009, 9:12pm
I use "Field Guide to the Birds of Australia" by Simpson & Day, bought it online from one of the book shops. Quite handy to have in the car.

sunnycoastguy
09-07-2009, 9:25pm
Do you have the site you bought it from??.

Harves
09-07-2009, 9:30pm
Do you have the site you bought it from??.

Dymocks Online HERE (http://www.dymocks.com.au/search/results.aspx?N=0&Ntk=All&Ntx=mode+matchallpartial&Nty=1&Ntt=field%20guide%20to%20the%20birds%20of%20australia)

Tannin
09-07-2009, 9:51pm
A proper field guide is by far the best, Sunnycoastguy. There are four Australian ones.

It is generally (but not universally) agreed that the best field guides to get started with are (in order):

Michael Morecombe Field guide to Australian birds (Also availablein a pocket-sized version)
Graham Pizzey, Frank Knight, & Peter Menkhorst. The Field Guide to the Birds of Australia.
Peter, Pat & Raoul Slater, The Slater Field Guide to Australian Birds.
Ken Simpson & Nicholas Day Field Guide to the Birds of Australia.