PDA

View Full Version : 18-200mm lens for my 40D

Lucky23
11-06-2009, 2:37am
Hey guys,

I was thinking of getting an 18-200mm lens simply as an everyday, every occassion (well.. most occassions :P) sort of lens. Mainly because i don't think i can really afford to buy multiple lenses to cover such a range.

At the moment, i'm still very new to photography and haven't really found a specific style to shoot in. For this reason i assumed the 18-200mm lens would be good for me as it would provide some versatility.

I'm thinking about getting the Sigma 18-200mm f/3.5-6.2 DC OS Lens. Oh yeah.. are the HSM lenses only for Nikons?

Also did a Google search and came across the Canon EFS and the Tamron 18-200mm lenses. After about a couple hours of reading reviews it became info overload. :action003:

Has anyone had any experience with these particular lenses or have any advice on purchasing a lens with similar zoom range (sorry... i'm still learning the proper terminology :confused013 ).

Does anyone have any rough ideas of how much this would cost me?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance :)

Lucky

phild
11-06-2009, 10:17am
I had the 18-200 Canon for a while, the reviews are lukewarm, as they say, it's as good as any one elses lens of that focal range.

I quite liked it, my only complaint is that it was noticeably soft at the long (200mm) end.

To get an idea of image quality check this post (http://www.ausphotography.net.au/forum/showpost.php?p=320145&postcount=1), I shot a candid of one of my grandkids wide open at 185mm with that lens.

nwhc
11-06-2009, 10:39am
Hi Lucky,

I got this lens when i first got a 40D it was great on the 350D but on the 40D it was terrible could not get a sharp image for the life of me.

i would say steer clear,

Lucky23
11-06-2009, 3:41pm
Hrmmm okay thanks for the heads up guys. Does anyone have any suggestions for zoom lens with long enough focal length and that has decent image quality :P?

R1titan
11-06-2009, 3:53pm