PDA

View Full Version : motorsport photgraphy - tips for newbies please!

kom123
11-05-2009, 2:09am
In a few weeks I to Wakefield Park to see a few mates in action. Wouldn't mind taking some photos but shooting motorsport is all new to me. So throw me your best general tips please! Will try and take some static shots and would also like some motion shots, rounding corners etc. Cheers...Scott

Analog6
11-05-2009, 6:18am
I haven't done a lot, Speed on Tweed one year and a historic racecars meet (they are on my Zenfolio gallery) but I found corners are your friend as there is often action on a corner and things happen there!

Take lots of batteries, cards and a monpod is good as your hands get tired holding a heavy camera all day. Enjoy!

Chromo
11-05-2009, 10:17am
I'm not very familiar with Wakefield Park - I've only been there once so I can't recommend a good location to try shooting from and I'm only a photography beginner, so take all this with a handful of salt!

Choose a slow corner - the slower the corner, the easier it is to take the pic.
Watch where the bikes come around the corner, then manually focus on that spot, panning until the bike hits the spot, then take the pic, while continuing to follow the bike. Auto-focus can muck you up big time, especially if you're taking a pic through a fence, but even if you aren't - it just can't always keep up with the bike speed.
I think the smaller the depth of field (low f number), the better, as I like to try to pan and get the bike sharp and the background blurred, to imply fast speed.
I usually experiment between full manual and shutter priority, so I can play with different 'looks' but also get some solid pics with the faster shutter speeds and not worry so much about the aperture.
Tripod / monopod is good. Very good.