PDA

View Full Version : Exposing for Off Camera flash ??

bigdazzler
10-03-2009, 2:08pm
ok so i got all my bits finally (see here (http://www.ausphotography.net.au/forum/showthread.php?t=26087)) and the triggers are working. They seem to be firing the off camera flash pretty consistently with both the test button and the shutter. So no problems with the mechanics. Problem is exposure.

Ive now noticed with just a few play shots that the exposure is very very blown out. Im pretty new to exposing with flash so any tips or advice appreciated are much appreciated :)

In the semi manual modes (A and S priority) my cameras flash menu consists of

1. Fill
2.Slow Sync
3. Rear Sync
4. Wireless

Same options in full manual.

I also have the option of Pre-TTL flash and ADI.

When I use the onboard flash to trigger the off camera flashgun, I have the camera and flash set to optical wireless mode which relies on infrared to send and recieve the trigger signal, and the exposures seem spot on for the most part.

Now when using the new triggers, im not sure how to set it all up and get correct exposure , all the test shots ive taken are WAY blown ??? Can anyone steer me in the right direction :confused013 oh and my flash is fully automatic, no manual power settings ..

TEITZY
10-03-2009, 2:25pm
I assume with the triggers it will be all manual settings (no TTL) if they are connected via a PC cord? If this is the case you need to set the flash power or aperture manually on each flash.

Cheers
Leigh

bigdazzler
10-03-2009, 2:32pm
mmm yea Leigh thats what i figured ..

so when using triggers youve got no TTL at all right ?? my flash is connected to the receiver with a sync cord , transmitter is on the camera hotshoe ..

if theres no TTL metering, how do you measure your exposure ?? Do I need a handheld flash/light meter ?? If so, i think im screwed here anyway, as this particular flash has no incremental power settings, its all auto ..

TEITZY
10-03-2009, 2:45pm