PDA

View Full Version : Need help deciding on flash to buy

Tinkabell
05-03-2009, 1:29pm
Hi,

Im fairly new to photography and i'm wanting to buy a new flash for my Canon 400D and was looking at either the 430EX or 580EX and noticed there is a big difference in price between the two and wondering what the main differences are and is the 580EX worth the extra money?

Thanks in advance.

Riverlander
05-03-2009, 1:44pm
Hi Tinkabell
The difference is basically the power of the flash, and thus the distance you can be from the subject that you are photographing, and still get sufficient light for a good photograph.
The 580 has a guide number (the power of the flash) of 58 and guess what? the 430 has a guide number of 43.
You do not really need to know how the guide number works (although it is helpful to study these things - search for Guide Number) just that the more expensive 580 EX II is almost 40% more powerful.
There are always some good second-hand 420, 430, 550, and 580 EX flashes being sold on the Internet. Do not buy an EZ flash as they do not work fully with any digital camera.

oiisxc
05-03-2009, 1:45pm
I bought the 430EX foy my 450D,

but the only reason why it cost more the guy said @ the camera shop is that i cant use it as an external flash only works on board the camera, but im still new to this so i dont need the 580EX just yet.

Riverlander
05-03-2009, 2:17pm
I mentioned 420, 430, 550, and 580 EX. They are all old models and all will work fine with any digital Canon SLR - either mounted on the camera or with an off-camera cord. There are also other older (and weaker) models that I believe would be OK - eg 220, 380
The new (and current models) are 430 EX II, and 580 EX II, and the main improvements are battery recharging speed, locking mechanism (to stop the flash falling of the camera), and wireles communications between flash units.