PDA

View Full Version : Flash Tutorial

clm738
30-01-2009, 10:48pm
Help Please,
I have a 50D and 580EX 11 flash. I have never used a real flash before and am having trouble understanding the camera settings I should use when using the flash. I have read the manual several times but can't seem to get it right in my head.
I have ISO at 100, flash exp. comp. at -1. I don't know correct setting (AV, TV etc.) for camera. At the moment I would like flash to work automatically.
Are there any tutorials or books written in very easy to understand english anywhere that you know of.
Thanks for your help.

TOM
30-01-2009, 11:04pm
When using flash, set the camera in manual. Google 'planet neil' and read his tutorials on flash. I am sure you will find these invaluable.

jev
31-01-2009, 12:21am
There's the flash equipment tutorial that might help you in getting to know the terminology and some of the basics - it's in the tutorial section.

Camera in M, flash in E-TTL II mode. Reset the flash exposure compensation 0, point the thing up if you have a ceiling to create a nice bounce effect, otherwise use a wall to bounce it of. If you want more help, provide examples of when things went wrong.

clm738
31-01-2009, 12:38am
Thanks TOM and jev. I will use those setting and practice.

smorter
31-01-2009, 12:52am
It depends on what you're trying to do.

If you are indoors and bouncing the flash, as a default set Manual Exposure to about 0 to -3 stops under ambient light. ISO 100 is not good when using Speedlites...it depends on what you're doing but I usually use ISO 1600 as a default for indoor work in dark places. That might be too high for you. Set the Flash Exposure Compensation to +2/3 as a starting point

It's important to note that there is no one setting for anything. I myself often use AV mode for indoor flash, but this is very risky but I am able to mitigate the risk with experience. M mode is probably easier to do when starting out