PDA

View Full Version : How do you organize files?

mwphoto
14-01-2009, 12:50pm
I take too many photos, and I am not the most organized person, which makes finding specific photos sometimes difficult.

I have a Master Copy Folder, with folders for each year, and in those sub-folders for each month, then each card download is labeled by date and (usually one word description eg dogs, kids, xmas).

But I take so many photos I really need to adopt something easier...as it is everything from kids, my pets, wildlife, landscape, holidays, christmas, event photography and private shoots are organized the same way.

I need to separate anything that might be business related away from personal/family, although sometimes the two overlap (family holiday landscape photography).

I would love to hear how other people organize their personal/business photography files (without copying full size photos to different folders - I now have 1.4tera hardrive but don't want to use it up too quick)?

Ta!

ricktas
14-01-2009, 1:27pm
I use Lightroom to import my photos so I can tag the metadata as well. But my process is

Folder for YEAR, subfolder for MONTH, folder for topic, I can then easily archive months and years to external drives ( I use 3 backup drives- two on site, one off site). Only current year photos remain on my second internal drive.

So Currently I have:

2009 / January / Cygnet Folk Festival
2009 / January / Buckland Tasmania
2009 / January / xxx & xxx Portraits Engagement

MarkChap
14-01-2009, 1:39pm
I currently use a basic systen

USing CS3 - Bridge - I download (raw) by shot date to a folder called "My Photos",delete the crap and add keywords.

Keepers are then sent to folder by genre / category / subjct.

D:/My Photos/keep/birds - which will very soon have sub folders for different groups of birds - "Birds Of Prey" "Water Birds" etc etc
D:/My Photos/keep/people <- which then has some subfolders "family" "friends"