PDA

View Full Version : My Pictures are too dark!

hdn177
26-10-2008, 8:08pm
Well as im still very new to my 400D and a DSLR, In bright day light I seem to get great photos. Today was my 1st full day out using the 400D. Filled the 4gig card up.

Today was overcast and it was shooting airfcraft at the airshow. I got some nice photos but most of them are way too dark.

With being overcast Im thinking I should of used a higher the ISO. The sky was bright so I assumed the preffered settings were 100-200 ISO the couple I tried @ 400 & 800 have much more exposure.

As I was out all day I couldnt really tell how bad they were on the LCD screen. Most shots were in foucs and Props on helichopter and planes were @ correct shutter speeds, to get the motion of them I wanted,. The fast moving stuff was mostly in foucs and my panning shots seemed to work.

I spose Im just asking what to do with bright but over cast days, outdoors.

Higher ISO, and up the expouse a couple of notches? Or am I way off?

Thanks in advance for your time!
Im bit disspaointed, I use to get more good shots with my P & S!

Heres a quick example of my maddness!

THis one is not bad ?

http://i235.photobucket.com/albums/ee197/hdn177/Albatross/IMG_2301.jpg

But this is just so dark :mad:

http://i235.photobucket.com/albums/ee197/hdn177/Albatross/IMG_2316.jpg

ricktas
26-10-2008, 8:15pm
What software do you use, try doing a levels and curves adjustment.

Also the photos look a little soft and could do with a dose of sharpening as well.

I did a quick levels and curves adjustment on one, also cropped it. Having the horizon central and the plane sitting along that horizon isn't compositionally good, I would have got down low to the ground to try and get the plane from a lower angle.

Higher ISO? ISO allows you to get faster shutter speeds in low light. No use using higher ISO on a stationary object. Higher ISO is good for low light when shooting moving stuff, cause it lets you freeze the movement.

hdn177