PDA

View Full Version : Technique - AF and camera shake. Getting random quality shots

Piffdog
15-03-2018, 9:26pm
Hi everyone, new to the forum and enjoying the insight so many of you have shared.

I am a reasonably competent amateur and have been playing around trying to photograph our pets. I have been using my 6d and an old 400d on a 70-200 f4 IS and seem to be getting mixed results in terms of sharpness.

I have been using on a tripod, at around f8, with IS turned off and the centre af point and consistently (on both bodies) getting pretty poor results when i expect them to be really crisp.

In addition, i have also been taking photos handheld (with IS on) in aperture mode and boosting the iso so i can shoot at 1/1000 or even faster. Im still getting crummy looking shots which look like theyre blurry but that doesnt make sense as i still get that outcome veven if i boost right to 1/4000!

Im happy to post some examples (im sure that will help) once i read the instr Ctions on how to do that. In the meantime, can anyone tell me if its probably that i am still getting handshake at 1/4000? (I dont have parkinsons...)

thanks

Tannin
15-03-2018, 10:47pm
G'dat Piffdog and welcome.

I suspect that your problem is not camera movement. (As you have assumed, we need to see the shots to be sure.)

At 1/1000, let alone 1/4000th, you have to do something really drastic to get camera shake problems at 200mm.

Unless the 70-200/4 IS is a really old model (designed last century) you can happily use IS whether you are hand-holding or using a tripod. From memory, there were only ever about three or four Canon IS lenses that don't work with tripods. My ancient old 100-400 Mark 1 (a 1999 design) was not supposed to like tripods and IS, but I ignored that for a decade without any problem at all. And even 15 years ago, Canon IS was very effective, worth a comfortable couple of shots.