PDA

View Full Version : looking for a nice sturdy tripod

ivans75
18-08-2017, 4:50pm
Hey guys, i bought a $40 zomei tripod from ebay, its good but it doesnt seem sturdy. Well you get what you pay for I guess...
There is however a $200 profesional version of zomei tripod, anyone used their tripod? especially in the upper market model?
Or any suggestion for tripod in $100-150 budget? Something I can use like forever?? Thanks

Tannin
18-08-2017, 5:11pm
There are two ways to buy a tripod.

(a) Save lots by buying a cheap one. Realise that the cheap one is useless, so throw it away and spend more on a half-decent one. Realise that the half-decent one still doesn't hold the camera still properly, so throw it away and spend even more on a good one.

(b) Buy a good one.

Guess which way is cheaper.

Hawthy
18-08-2017, 5:15pm
Congratulations. You have started a thread that will generate more discussion and debate than just about any other. :lol:

Sorry but I have no experience with Zomei. When I was shopping for a tripod, I wanted one that was small enough to fit in a suitcase and light enough that I wasn't going to be slugged overweight baggage charges, but still sturdy. I bought a Manfrotto MK393-H because it only weighed 1.25 kg and folded down to 49 cm. It also had a pan head, which I like although I think most photographers prefer a ball head. It can go as low as 35 cm for low angle shots but maximum height is only 144 cm. I would prefer it if it could go just a bit higher but it is all a compromise. It cost about $140 from memory. I think that the Manfrotto Befree gets good wraps for a travel tripod. They are about $199.