PDA

View Full Version : Beginners questions please

ivans75
10-08-2017, 3:27pm
Hi guys

i am a photgrqphy beginner. I have a canon 80d with ef s 10-22mm 3.5/4.5 wide angle lens and 50 mm f1.4 lens.

i ve been getting some photography resources (tutorials) online before i found this website and my cousin who loaned me the 10-22 lens also gave me a bit of advise in regards to the light and composition trilogy, however there re still many things i dont get

For example if i use av mode and shoot the same scenery (landscape) i get better pics but when i do the same scenery with manual copying the same setting, the image somewhat looks different.

Another question is, if i use auto iso, the camera tends to choose a much higher iso setting
And i ve been told to use the lowest possible and compensate the exposure with either shutter speed or apperture depending on the occasion. Do you guys leave iso on auto or adjust accordingly with situation? Do you adjust iso last after deciding what apperture?

Also, what is the best way to take picture against sun light ? I am aiming for some dramatic view especially in the golden hours period :)

i have many more questions in my head but id take one baby step at a time :D

much appreciated once again

ameerat42
10-08-2017, 4:22pm
A preliminary reply:
1. Some more detail about "somewhat different" would be helpful, perhaps two such pics as you describe.
But, I would say that in Av mode there is some further automation that you may not be aware of and so cannot
set in manual mode. This may possibly be due to Auto WB settings. It also depends on whether the scene changes
significantly in the interval between shots.

2. I am uncertain of what you mean here: "Another question is, if i use auto iso, the camera tends to choose a much higher iso setting..."
About using the lowest possible ISO setting, that is a general rule to try to avoid introducing too much signal noise into the image.