PDA

View Full Version : Camera Recommendation for Nepal

bmarchant
10-02-2017, 12:46pm
I am an amateur photographer and have only really experimented with action filing using a gopro. I am doing some trekking in Nepal in April and really want a camera to take some good quality photos. Being a once in a life time experience, I'd really like to come away with some quality photos, so am hoping for advice on a good camera out there for someone with no professional photographer experience. I know canon has some reasonably priced compact cameras such as the PowerShot SX720 HS, so some feedback on these would be appreciated, or any other suggestions.

Thank you for your advice in advance :)

ricktas
10-02-2017, 12:59pm
Hi

The first thing you need to know is that a good camera, will not take good photos. Photography is about 80% the person behind the camera knowing what they are doing. I would suggest you spend the time between now and April learning about how a camera works, what each setting does, and how to compose for good photographs. You could buy a good quality camera from any of the major (or minor) camera brands and it is quite capable of getting excellent results. But if you do not understand what settings are needed, then the photos will not be great..even on a $10,000 camera.

Harsh, maybe, but this is the reality. Buying a $15,000 bike, does not make you an olympian. Buying a good camera, does not make you a photographer.

bmarchant
10-02-2017, 1:16pm
Appreciate you taking the time to reply.

Agree 100%, keen to get a camera asap so I have the time to experiment and get to know all the in's and outs of the camera's settings and functions.