PDA

View Full Version : New lens needed to do portraits with Canon 70 D with kit lens

juskat
24-12-2016, 11:08pm
Hi
I am a beginner with a Canon 70D (18-55 kit lens) wanting buy a new lens for taking portraits in natural light both indoors and outside. Budget - less than $500.

This is my first post, thanks for your help.

feathers
24-12-2016, 11:25pm
G'day justcat:). A canon 85mm f1.8, maybe?.... There around your budget price. Cheers.

juskat
24-12-2016, 11:34pm
Thanks feathers ikeep hearing about the "Nifty- Fifty" for portraits and thought that meant I needed to get at 50mm. what will be the differance to my shooting and photos between the 50mm and 85mm?

feathers
25-12-2016, 12:00am
The 50 will give you a wider view, which would be helpful in tight spaces indoors, as well as generally a good all round prime lens. It just means you have to walk backwards or forwards to get the right composition in frame. I thought the 85mm would be a better choice though, as it will give you better bokeh, or blur around your subject isolating them with less distraction, something a lot of portrait photographers go for. The 85 is also a prime lens. meaning you would have to walk back and forth till you got the right composition. These are not zoom lenses like your kit lens. They are generally a good sharp lens. and at f1.8 would work better in natural lighting.
If you google both lenses separately on the flkr site. You would see samples of what these two lenses can do:) As far as other zooms are concerned, l will leave it to others for recommendations. Cheers.

farmmax
25-12-2016, 6:38pm