PDA

View Full Version : OM-D E-M10 MK 2 or USED E-M5?!?!

welshminer
22-11-2015, 1:18pm
Hey guys,

I am currently looking to purchase the E-M10 MK 2 with triple lens kit which includes the lovely 45mm f/1.8 for $1,200 Australian. However, I have come across a used E-M5 in mint condition which includes the panny 20mm f/1.7, the Oly 12-50mm F3.5-6.3 weather sealed lens, spare batteries and an extra charger for $650 Australian.

I am a novice and have been teaching myself a lot about photography over the last few months in anticipation of purchasing a more complex system. I want to use the camera for my travels and am a fan of the outdoors. I will be learning how to use both cameras from scratch and have never owned a sophisticated system.

Any recommendations would be most welcome.

ameerat42
22-11-2015, 1:33pm
Hi. I'd say it depends on how confident you feel. On the other hand, you could weigh up $650 of risk and decide from there.
How much can you ascertain the "mint condition", as seen, or as described?

I know they're (somewhat) different cameras, and have you done a comparison of the two to help you decide.
Here are two links to DPReview:

EM10-Mk2 (and handy comparison table) http://www.dpreview.com/articles/4887393042/bang-for-the-buck-olympus-om-d-e-m10-ii-review

EM-5: http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/olympusem5

I note that the EM10 is not weather sealed, wheras the EM5-11 (dunno about mk-1) is weather sealed.

ricktas
22-11-2015, 2:06pm
The other thing as well as what Am says above, is that the location of this second hand gear and where/how it has been stored. If it has lived in the north of Australia, there is also the chance the lens could have fungus, which if it does, will make it useless. Basically anywhere it could be hot and damp and not stored correctly.

bconolly
22-11-2015, 4:33pm