PDA

View Full Version : How much sharpening is needed? (LF, PS & NIK)

BronBronBron
25-06-2015, 11:35am
Hi,

I have LR, PS and NIK software.
I'm wondering the best workflow or use of sharpening photos with this software.
I'm new to LR (moved from Aperture) and a PS novice, so go easy!.
I am quite familiar with Nik effects and mostly used them as a plugin from Aperture/LR, but want to improve my PS use and knowledge, so workflow questions arise.

My typical workflow.
1. Sharpen in LR (develop - details)
2. Export in PS - use Nik Raw Pre-sharpener (smart object). I don't sharpen everything, just apply where needed.
3. PS editing and then Hi-pass sharpening.
4. Save back into LR.
5. When exporting from LR there is also another output sharpening for screen (standard) which I typically apply.

Wondering:
a) if all these sharpening steps are needed?
b) were would I use Nik output sharpener?
c) Suggestions for improvement? (i.e.: have I got the right idea)

thanks for any info
Bron

Hamster
25-06-2015, 2:41pm
Seems like a lot of sharpening to me.

I do sharpening last (either after PS editing or in PS after LR editing) and try to choose a method at that stage that suits, usually high pass but maybe selective sharpening for something like eyes on a portrait.

This is also relevant to the thread and you may be interested.
http://www.ausphotography.net.au/forum/showthread.php?139419-Sharpening-your-photographs

P.S. - I don't use Nik software so can't help there.

farmmax
25-06-2015, 11:06pm