PDA

View Full Version : A good macro lens for a beginner?

Bonsai Jason
26-02-2015, 5:51pm
Hey all,

Newbie here, been doing photography for about 6months now and am slowly starting to work out my area's of focus... no pun intended lol One of the is Macro photography.

Now, I've been doing a bit of looking into the various macro lenses, and am just overwhelmed with the different varieties, and all of the different reviews I'm finding on them. One site will tell me a lens is great, then the next will contradict it.

So I'm just wondering what a suitable macro lens for beginner would be? I'm running a Nikon D5200 :)

I've been looking at the Sigma lenses, specically the 70-300mm Macro Telephoto lens and was thinking that it would be the best option for me. Mainly because of the price, as I can't really afford much over the $200 mark :( It seemed ok, but i've read some bad reviews on it, so thought I might ask you guys for some advice :) Is that a good lens? and is there a better one around the same price range?

Thank in advance :)

Jason

I @ M
26-02-2015, 6:18pm
Jason, you will generally find that true macro lenses are defined as ones that have a reproduction ratio of 1:1 and typically with a very short minimum focus distance.

By comparison to a Sigma 150mm macro lens, the 150mm offers a 1:1 ratio and a minimum focus distance of 38cm and the 70-300 gives you 1:4 ratio and a min focus of 95cm.

You can do some very good close up work with the 70-300 but if you want better macro ability then a dedicated lens will ultimately give you better results.

There really is no such thing as a free lunch with lenses as a rule but for more economical alternatives have a look around at pricing for Tamron 90mm macros and you might find some secondhand units that are selling cheaply. Be aware that the early versions of that lens will not autofocus with your current camera but that may not be a drawback as many many macro photographers use manual focus anyway.

ricktas