PDA

View Full Version : PS & Lr Editing with tablets

bradleyanderson
14-01-2015, 12:09pm
I’m fairly new to the whole post processing of images in photoshop/lightroom. I’ve watch a lot of videos with people using a wacom tablet and pen to do the editing and would like to move down that path. I’ve been looking in to these in the price range of $300 plus depending on size and model. I also see the surface pro 3 has a pen but it only has 254 pressure levels. Will this be a problem as the wacom have 1000+? I see the real advantage for the surface pro is it’s a windows based OS which will take Ps & Lr and also the mobile factor that I can edit while away for the weekend.
Has anyone used or are using a table to do editing if so how does it work for you? Any feed back would be great.

Brad.

ricktas
14-01-2015, 2:33pm
For me, the issue comes down to editing on a 10 inch tablet. I cannot compare editing capability on a 27 inch 98% adobe gamut screen that has been colour calibrated, to using a tablet. What you can see on a larger screen when editing that you cannot see on a tablet is mind boggling. I use a wacom pad and love it, but would not consider using a tablet to edit anything worthwhile. Snaps for Facebook, sure, but that would be all.

bradleyanderson
14-01-2015, 3:10pm
Thanks Rick for the feed back. I was thinking more along the lines of using it as the touch pad/pen setup and out putting the screen to a 24inch when at home. Some in turn to work like the "wacom cintiq 13HD " with the large display of your PC and also your table and pen having the same display. I’m more worried about the pressure level and if that is going to cause problems with the large defence.

ricktas
14-01-2015, 3:29pm
Ah, OK. Now I get it. I am not a fan of the pressure sensitivity of most tablets, personally I would prefer to use the Wacom. However I have not used one of the Surface range so could well be swayed if I had.

Hamster
14-01-2015, 3:36pm