PDA

View Full Version : Camera metering, what it's doing, and why it's dumb.

arthurking83
01-06-2014, 3:33pm
A brief how too on using your camera's metering feature.

All modern cameras have a meter built into them.
Most seem to do the same thing with their various modes, and the type of lighting you are using will determine how the meter works too.

This info is about non flash/strobe photography only.
I have limited to no knowledge of flash photography and the way the camera meter is used in that scenario.
(anyone with extensive knowledge on that topic is free to add any info they want too)

Also, for those that find any concepts in this thread hard to grasp, feel free to ask questions.

I'll try to keep it as simple and understandable as I can.

From the little that I know of other(non Nikon) brands, they all appear to operate in similar ways.

Firstly, camera makers seem to call their metering modes by various names.

Nikon use Spot, Centre Weighted and Matrix as they're three metering modes.
Other names for these can be Overall, Evaluative, Multi or Multi Pattern, Pattern, Partial, Zone, .. and probably a lot more.

Matrix metering is the same as Evaluative, or Multi/Multi Pattern, or Zone.
Some cameras have more than 3 different metering modes, for eg. Canon seems to have 4, with a mode called 'Partial'.
What this is and does is something I know nothing of.

What is important is that you know and understand what each mode does.

For this thread tho, I'm going to stick with the two modes that I use most which are Spot(99.9%) and Matrix(0.1%) of the time.
Centre Weighted I occasionally use if I use the speedlight, which is rare in itself, so I may use CW mode 0.00001% of my camera usage.

My second priority is to help those that don't fully understand their metering system, and to try to explain how a camera meter is not quite smart, or as I prefer to describe it .. quite dumb.