PDA

View Full Version : Photo used by a business - What would you do?

SpoonyDan
15-05-2014, 3:39pm
Firstly, I'm no pro-photographer, at the moment I do it for fun and experience. Making some money out of it in the is something I have considered however (I guess I have already, a dog photo shoot and a large wall print of the image discussed below).

So at Easter I shot this photo of a mate at Manar Park (largest camping, 4x4, dirtbike park in QLD).
https://farm8.staticflickr.com/7172/13989350361_2a94579c9e.jpg (https://flic.kr/p/njc5tT)DSCF4282 v2 (https://flic.kr/p/njc5tT) by SpoonShots (https://www.flickr.com/people/121288486@N08/), on Flickr

I'd thrown a stack of images, including this one on my Facebook for friends who went that weekend to see. He posted it on Manar Parks Facebook page, and a period after they contacted him, asked him when it was taken, he also told me they did ask who took it and if the photographer had any other pics and hi-res ones.

Hearing this I figured, oh they must be interested in more pics, awesome, so I waited a few days expecting to be contacted. By this time I'd found out they'd used the Facebook version of the image (which was under exposed and not PP correctly) in their bulk email newsletter with zero reference too me (it's still can be accessed from their page currently http://www.manar.com.au/newsletter_may2014.html .
They also now have this poor version of this image as their Gacebook cover photo https://www.facebook.com/pages/Manar-Park/119427388069886?fref=ts .

Now I'm flattered they the obviously like the image this much, however I found it a bit rude that they then went on to use it after contacting my mate without getting in contact with me to first ask, or at minimum at least provide credit to. As far as I'm aware it's also a breach of copyright when used for promotional use?