PDA

View Full Version : D5100 battery life

Kowari
09-03-2014, 6:37pm
Hi . I am a complete novice to DSLR and last week bought a Nikon D5100 online. The battery didn't last very long and seems to take 3- 4 hours to re-charge. Is this normal?
Thanks
kowari

ricktas
09-03-2014, 6:53pm
what is 'very long'? The battery should be able to take around 600 photos, but that depends on LCD screen/flash usage etc which will drain the battery much faster.

Kowari
09-03-2014, 11:24pm
what is 'very long'? The battery should be able to take around 600 photos, but that depends on LCD screen/flash usage etc which will drain the battery much faster.

Rick - I got 188 pics from the battery life. It lasted a few days

arthurking83
10-03-2014, 11:03am
The number of days is irrelevant.

The number of shots is the only measure of a battery's performance that counts.

That is, my battery lasts months if the camera is left on but isn't used.

188 exposures is definitely an issue tho.

Is it a genuine Nikon type, or a cheap ebay purchase?

Are you using the viewfinder for all your images, or using liveview(the rear LCD screen) to take all your shots.

If you use Liveview for all your shots, and it's on for very long periods of time, then the 188 images per charge could make sense.

Also number of exposures per charge depends heavily on the length of the exposure too.
If you've shot 188 exposures all at 1 minute each, then this could be normal for battery life.

The other question would be: if you leave your camera in the on position, does it automatically go into a sleep mode.
Nikon DSLRs go into a sleep mode, where most features shut down after about 6 seconds.
If you press the shutter button it auto wakes up almost instantly.
In this sleep mode, it's as good as the camera being turned off, and the battery should last for a few weeks with the camera in such a state.
As long as the camera enters this sleep mode.