PDA

View Full Version : Lighting for product photography

imgcreation
04-06-2013, 11:33pm
Hi, i am still learning to shoot product photography when I came across an article in magazine showing a perfume with a weird lighting setup. Below is the picture of the snapshot from my phone camera. From my understanding, I think the picture was created using a blue gel as the background light, and a led torchlight (thus giving a small round shape light) with magenta and green color gel. Is my understanding correct? Or am I missing anything? Appreciate inputs from you guys. Cheers :)

*removed- do not post photos onto this site that you do not own copyright to: Admin*

ricktas
05-06-2013, 6:11am
Although I have removed the photo cause you are breaching copyright by posting a photo that you do not own, the photo (if it was a photo) would have been taken in a light-tent and then had probably hours of work done on it in photoshop. It could well be that it was a digital creation rather than a photo at all. The skills of digital artists is such that many things we see are, especially of products are not even photographs.

Use of a light-tent is the most basic way that small products like the perfume bottle, are photographed, then using multiple lights to ensure there is no shadowing and the product is presented in the best possible way.

ameerat42
05-06-2013, 8:14am
You're listed as a beginner, but I don't know your background, so...

A very simple background (especially for small objects) is just a piece of white paper arranged on a table so that the back is supported - by a box, say.
So the paper sits in a smooth curve between the box and the table. You place the subject to be photographed on the flat of the paper, and then experiment with
lighting sources and angles.

You will find that you still have to do some minor PP using something like Photoshop.
Am.

Sweetmac
14-02-2015, 9:17am