PDA

View Full Version : help

MissBecc
28-04-2008, 9:12am
please help.. im getting so frustrated.

I have a degree of understanding to the whole technicle side of photography, but it isnt there a swell. Its like something is missing and it just doesnt click for me, i.e understanding the whole f stop and etc etc

please someone help make it click.

:confused:

ricktas
28-04-2008, 9:27am
Im a bit confused, whats the actual question?

Are you saying your dont get the relationship between Aperture and Shutter speed?

Have a look at this, I find visually this represents it all well: http://www.pbase.com/wlhuber/image/41450051

MissBecc
28-04-2008, 9:31am
basically yes Rick.

And so when it comes to my settings, really im going on guess/experience not skill, which is frustrating as i know i have a talent with my photography, i just need the precise knowledge behind it.

Make sense?

MissBecc
28-04-2008, 9:33am
p.s that link is great. thank you

MissBecc
28-04-2008, 9:34am
omg actually that is exactly what i need. See im a visual person, and just hadnt had anything like that to connect the two.

THANKYOU

ricktas
28-04-2008, 9:36am
you are welcome!

ving
28-04-2008, 9:53am
yup, smaller aperture and deeper DoF means less light to the sensor so a longer exposure is needed.
larger aperture and shallower DoF has more light to the sensor and a faster shutter is needed :)

that picture says it all :)

The_Scroop
28-04-2008, 11:49am
One very useful tool is histograms. It is a graph that gives an average reading based on exposure in your shots.
If you do a little research in them and learn how to display it on your camera and read them, you will find it much easier.
They can tell you if your shot it overexposed, underexposed or just right. This is more of an advanced aspect of photography but very useful.