PDA

View Full Version : Advice on Editing Photos with People

DTX
14-02-2013, 1:23am
I just got back from my overseas trip and now im in the process of editing them in Lightroom 3.

How would you edit the following two images? I find im having trouble editing pictures with people in... just want the colours to pop but adjusting vibrance/contrast doesnt seem to work as it makes everything look fake!

http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b251/Truemessiah/IMG_2364_zpsfd79b663.jpg

http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b251/Truemessiah/IMG_2349_zps90ac313e.jpg

ricktas
14-02-2013, 6:06am
If you want specific colours to pop. rather than over-saturate the whole scene, use the Lightroom TAT : http://www.luminous-landscape.com/videos/lightroom-tat.shtml

It is a wonderful feature that is much overlooked in Lightroom

Glenda
14-02-2013, 8:49am
Looks like Vietnam? I'm no expert with PP but I've always found Asian skin looks best with cloudy white balance.

William W
14-02-2013, 3:32pm
How would you edit the following two images? I find im having trouble editing pictures with people in... just want the colours to pop but adjusting vibrance/contrast doesnt seem to work as it makes everything look fake!

Both are shot in soft light.
One option (maybe as well as isolated increase saturation) is to subtly change that soft light by dodging and burning and bumping the Mid Tone Contrast.

Apart for the uploading and resizing, the salient points in this quick example are:
Crop (to place the MAIN SUBJECT and focus of interest ON the jumbled background and not IN amongst it.)
Selective Dodge and Burn (her face; her clothes; the background palate).
Increase saturation (slightly - red)
Increase saturation (slightly)
Increase mid-tone Contrast

Original is on top:

http://gallery.photo.net/photo/16917757-lg.jpg

WW

DTX
14-02-2013, 10:47pm