PDA

View Full Version : advice please

alexiad
08-02-2013, 11:13am

I'm new to photography esp. technical stuff. I took some full moon photos and kept getting the "reflected" image of moon as in photo. The moon is the bright one, even though the "reflection" looks more like the moon?
It looks kind of interesting but I'm hoping for some technical advice as to what causes this so I can eliminate in future. Apologies in advance if this is really basic :)

Wayne
08-02-2013, 11:20am
Ghosting inside your lens or through a window you may have taken the image through?
What lens were you using?

alexiad
08-02-2013, 11:30am
thanks - no window I was outside.... I think I had the Canon EF-s 55-250mm lens on at the time

ricktas
08-02-2013, 12:05pm
Do you have a filter on the lens. Like a UV filter etc? What happens is the light of the moon hits the front element of the lens, reflects back onto the back of the filter glass and then you end up with this result.

Warbler
08-02-2013, 1:33pm
Cheap UV filter that all salesmen tell newbies they have to have. :D

alexiad
08-02-2013, 2:32pm
thanks all for quick response. It is quite possible I had left the uv filter on...so next time will make sure it's not there and hopefully fixed.

ricktas
08-02-2013, 2:38pm
thanks all for quick response. It is quite possible I had left the uv filter on...so next time will make sure it's not there and hopefully fixed.

Have a think about this. Your filter is distorting and causing this, but it is only really obvious to you when you experience an issue like you did with the moon, but the filter being on there is going to be causing refraction all the time, it may not be as obvious in most cases, but removing it, and not putting it back on, ever, might well be a better choice.

You want to the highest image quality, and perhaps your filter is letting your down, more than you realise.

Rattus79
08-02-2013, 2:46pm
Another point: