PDA

View Full Version : Which lens?

DCR62
05-01-2013, 9:15pm
In late February I am travlling to India on a holiday. One of the things I will be doing is visiting the Ranthambore National Park in Rajasthan. This is one of the worlds best Tiger habitats. I am very new to photography and was wondering what lens would be best to take along. I intend to hire one before I leave if needed rather than buy at this point. My camera is a Canon 60D and I have a Sigma 18-200mm lens already.

Cheers
Dave

AVALANCHE
06-01-2013, 12:18am
Why would you need any other lens for daytime shooting? You have the entire focal range covered with what you currently have so I'd just save your money and spend it on other things like your holiday!

Dittography
06-01-2013, 12:34am
When I bought my first DSLR I was already on holiday in Malaysia, the first and last time I've been there. In hindsight I'd wished I'd bought the camera and learnt how to use it before going on the trip. Even with the basic set up I had I could have gotten so much better pictures than I came home with. I agree with Avalanche, considering that you have indicated your skill level is beginner I'd suggest you try to simulate taking some shots that you suspect mimic what you will be going to do in India, ie similar lighting and distance to the tigers etc rather than worrying about equipment just now. Once you have a go at the practice shots you can ask for some CC here. If you then find with the improved techniques that the lens you have can't produce what you want, then with a better idea of what you are looking for people can give some advice on recommended lenses to hire..
Get the camera out, have a play, see what does and doesn't work, ask questions about what you think isn't specifically working for you and most of all have fun doing it..

Wobbles
06-01-2013, 2:29am
Dave,