PDA

View Full Version : Exposure Lock

Primal Eye
20-09-2012, 10:46am
Hey guys

I'm new to this so I may well be miles off the correct technique, but I was hoping for some advice.

I was trying to take a portrait shot last night at dusk. The sky behind the subject was incredible, and I wanted that exposed correctly. I aslo knew that I'd have to use my flash to light the subject.

I turned off the flash, pointed the the lens at the sky, depressed the shutter button half way down to take an exposure reading from the sky, then recomposed the shot on the subject, and turned the flash on. Now here's my question: since the subject is alot closer to me than the sky should I have manually focused on the subject once more? Or is there a way to keep exposure lock active while refocusing on a subject that's closer, or further away than the area/item you have obtained your exposure lock from?

Does that even make sense? :eek: Really enjoying playing with the exposure lock, makes for some really interesting shots - just not sure I fully understand what I'm doing to be honest.

I have a Canon 50D

Thanks

swifty
20-09-2012, 1:42pm
You should have a dedicated exposure lock button, something like a AE-L button.
Use that instead of the shutter half press.
On Nikon models, half press usually only lock focus, not exposure but u may be able to configure it to lock both on your model. Check whether a half press locks both focus and exposure or just focus.

But yea, you can AE-L background, recompose and AF lock subject with half press and take shot with flash.
Or even simpler, go into manual mode. Adjust exposure for background only.
Once you have it, you don't need to touch the exposure setting too much (sunset light changes quickly though). Turn on your flash and set to ttl, focus on your subject as normal and your flash with light your subject correctly. Use flash compensation to adjust how much you want your subject lit.

Wayne
20-09-2012, 3:02pm